Messages to the Community

Update on the Task Force on the Liberal Arts+

We are pleased to announce the formation of the Task Force on the Liberal Arts+. We appreciate the commitment of the faculty and staff, listed below, who have agreed to serve along with the five of us. The initial meeting of the Task Force will be scheduled within the next week.  

At the first meeting, the Task Force will discuss the governance of the group and the ways that it will engage with the broader community, both in terms of convening open meetings and soliciting proposals from around the university for discussion. The focus of the Task Force will be to conceptualize the nomenclature for the collection of academic fields, establish the intellectual coherence of any proposed new structure(s), and assure that the academic experience envisioned both for students and faculty is enhanced in any new model. All of this work will be undertaken with a clear commitment to equity, inclusion, and social justice principles at the core.

The Task Force will work to generate and evaluate ideas that strengthen our academic mission, operating within a set of design constraints resulting from our current enrollment trends and fiscal situation. A website will be created where we will post information that is shared with us as well as regular updates on our progress and proposals.

We look forward to convening the Task Force and to regular communications with the New School community.

Task Force Members

College of Performing Arts
Tanya Kalmanovitch, Associate Professor of Music and Arts Entrepreneurship
Maggie Koozer, Vice Dean, Teaching and Learning
Glynis Rigsby, Assistant Professor Of Dramatic Arts

Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts
Neil Greenberg, Chair, The Arts; Professor of Choreography; Program Director and Departmental Faculty Advisor for Contemporary Dance
Laura Liu, Associate Professor of Global Studies And Geography
Natasha Rivera, Assistant Director, Office of Civic Engagement and Social Justice

The New School for Social Research
Oz Frankel, Associate Professor and Chair of History
Sanjay Reddy, Associate Professor of Economics
Tsuya Yee, Assistant Dean of Academic Affairs

Parsons School of Design
Rhonda Garelick, Dean, School of Art and Design History and Theory
Kelly Grossi, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Radhika Subramaniam, Associate Professor of Visual Culture

Schools of Public Engagement
Cecilia Ponte, Assistant Dean for Full-Time Faculty Affairs
Luis Jaramillo, Director of the Creative Writing Program and Assistant Professor of Writing
Julia Foulkes, Professor of History

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.