Messages to the Community

Update on our Search for the Next Provost of The New School

A message from Dr. Dwight A. McBride, President and University Professor

As a follow-up to my message to the university community on September 1, I am writing to share several important updates about the process to identify the next Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs. Over the past two weeks, we have completed two key steps: the appointment of the Search Advisory Committee and the selection of the executive search firm.

Search Advisory Committee

I am pleased to announce the formation of the Search Advisory Committee that will help to guide and shape the process, review candidates, and recommend finalists. The composition of the Committee reflects the breadth of our academic community and includes representatives from the faculty, staff, student body, university leadership, and Board of Trustees. I am especially grateful to Parsons School of Design Executive Dean Rachel Schreiber and University Professor Darrick Hamilton, who have agreed to take on the significant role of chairing this Committee.

The Committee members are:
Committee Co-Chairs
Darrick Hamilton, Henry Cohen Professor of Economics and Urban Policy and University Professor
Rachel Schreiber, Executive Dean of Parsons School of Design

Committee Members
Barbara Augustin, Senior Director of Strategy and Operations for Enrollment and Student Success
Jay Bernstein, Distinguished Professor of Philosophy
John Bruce, Associate Professor of Design and Management
Weiouqing Chen, Chair of the Student Senate
James Fuerst, Assistant Professor of Writing and Literature
Maggie Koozer, Vice Dean for Curriculum and Learning for the College of Performing Arts
Tony Dunne, University Professor of Design
Susan Foote, Member of the Board of Trustees and Chair of the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board
Victoria Hattam, Professor of Politics
Tokumbo Shobowale, Executive Vice President for Business & Operations
Lucille Tenazas, Henry Wolf Professor of Communication Design
McWelling Todman, Professor of Clinical Practice in Psychology
Ricky Tucker, Alumnus, BA 2014; MA 2015
Mia White, Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies

The Search Advisory Committee will be supported by Spencer Stuart, a leading global search and leadership advisory firm with a premier higher education practice. Spencer Stuart will help us design and run a rigorous search process and attract a broad, deep and diverse pool of candidates.

In the next few weeks, I will be convening a kick-off meeting with the Search Advisory Committee and our Spencer Stuart representative. At that meeting, I will officially charge the Committee and lead a preliminary discussion about the expectations and responsibility for this important search.

Stay Informed

I am committed to keeping the university community informed as this process moves forward. We will be doing this through regular email updates and a dedicated web page that will serve as a hub for information related to the search. We look forward to sharing that soon. 

Thank you for your interest in this important undertaking for The New School. 

Onward and upward!

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.