Messages to the Community

Strategic Planning Update

A message from Dr. Renée T. White, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs; and Dr. Lara de S. Penin, Associate Professor of Transdisciplinary Design

Dear New School Faculty and Staff,
We are pleased to announce the membership of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee, including representation from the faculty, staff, students, leaders taking part in the Middle States re-accreditation process, and members of the President’s Leadership Team. We thank the various governance bodies that put forward nominations and elections for these representatives.

The committee will begin meeting in July and will plan numerous opportunities for community members to engage in the process throughout the upcoming academic year. Additional working groups will offer opportunities for even broader participation in this process. We are grateful to the following individuals who have agreed to lead this important conversation.

Strategic Planning Steering Committee Membership 2022-2023

  • Lara de S. Penin, Associate Professor of Transdisciplinary Design, School of Design Strategies, Parsons School of Design
  • Renée T. White, Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Rita Breidenbach, Associate Provost for Faculty Development, The Faculty Center for Innovation, Collaboration and Support
  • Adam Brown, Vice Provost for Research, Associate Professor of Psychology, New School for Social Research
  • Christopher J. Castano, Trustee and Managing Director, Grosvenor Capital Management, LP
  • Lina Maria Celis Rengifo, MFA student in Textiles, Parsons School of Design ’23
  • Antonia Craig, Curricular Affairs, Assistant Director, Parsons School of Design, Dean’s Office
  • Alice Crary, University Distinguished Professor (Philosophy, Liberal Studies and Gender & Sexuality Studies), New School for Social Research
  • Laura Cronk, Assistant Professor of Writing & Chair of the Undergraduate Creative Writing Program, Schools of Public Engagement
  • Maria-Elena Grant, Associate Program Director, The New School, Institute On Race, Power and Political Economy
  • Melanie Hart, Senior Vice President for Equity, Inclusion, and Social Justice and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Frank Nemhauser, Associate Professor, Director of Vocal Studies, Mannes School of Music, College of Performing Arts
  • Veer Oberoi, MA student in Politics, New School for Social Research ’24
  • Luciana Scruchten, Assistant Professor of Fashion, Parsons School of Fashion
  • John Sharp, Professor of Games + Learning, School of Art, Media + Technology, Co-Director, PETlab, Parsons School of Design
  • Kamilah Tibbits, BA student in Media Studies, Schools of Public Engagement ’24
  • Bhawani Venkataraman, Associate Professor of Chemistry; Chair and Departmental Faculty Advisor for Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Eugene Lang College of Liberal Arts
  • Lin Zhou, Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer

Additional support provided by:

  • Dan Napolitano, Chief of Staff, Provost’s Office
  • Heather O’Brien, Assistant Director of Administration and Special Projects, Provost’s Office
  • Lucille Tenazas, Henry Wolf Professor of Communication Design, Parsons School of Design

We look forward to sharing updates on this work and further details on how to get involved in this process this fall.

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.