The Literati are Heading Here National Book Critics Circle Awards this Week

The prestigious National Book Critics Circle Awards Ceremony will be held on March 10-11 on campus at Tishman Auditorium, 66 West 12th Street. A chance to see and hear from those considered the best writers of our time. This year’s Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Joyce Carol Oates, presented by Kwame Anthony Appiah, president of PEN American Center, the 2008 winner.

The annual event honors the finest books published in English in the categories of Fiction, General Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. On the second day of the event, the finalists will read from their work.

Admission is free, and the celebrations will start, on both days, at 6:00 p.m. at Tishman Auditorium. For more information and a full list of finalists, visit: the National Book Critics Circle website.