New School News

Innovations In Education Grantees Announced

The Office of the Provost congratulates the 13 faculty members who were awarded Innovations in Education Fund (IEF) grants during the program’s pilot year and announces the guidelines for the coming year of funding. The IEF is a competitive program designed to support faculty as innovators in curriculum and pedagogy.

Grants of up-to $10,000 will be awarded to support compelling proposals that demonstrate experimentation and innovation in teaching and learning. The IEF guidelines and application form are posted on the Provost Office website. The application deadline is June 21, 2010.

These winning 2009-20010 faculty members represent a range of interests engaged in projects supported by IEF grants. They are:

  • Shana Agid, Assistant Professor in Art, Media and Technology, Parsons, with Gabrielle Bendiner-Viani, Visiting Assistant Professor of Urban Studies, Eugene Lang College, and Cameron Tonkinwise, Associate Professor of Design and Sustainability, Parsons. A grant of $8,850 supported the development of a multi-faceted approach to teaching design in which students learn to frame design processes in consideration of the complex cultural, social, or political contexts.
  • Benjamin Bacon, Assistant Professor in Art, Media and Technology, Parsons. A $10,000 grant supported a collaborative course with Tsinghua University, Beijing and the China Academy of Art, Hangzhou, and the creation of student projects for eARTS, Shanghai’s festival of new media art.
  • Jesse Day, Part-time Lecturer, NSGS, and ESL Specialist Tutor, University Writing Center, with Ananda Cavalli, Part-time Lecturer, Parsons. A grant of $8,550 supported the development of The Illustrated Art and Design Handbook, a pedagogical tool with innovative graphic elements specifically designed for international students who speak English as a second language and who study at American colleges of art and design.
  • Carlos Forment, Associate Professor of Sociology, NSSR, with Zed Adams, Assistant Professor of Philosophy, NSSR, and Andreas Kalyvas, Associate Professor of Political Science, Lang and NSSR. A $6,000 grant supported the development of introductory courses that further interdisciplinary approaches to curriculum and pedagogy for Master’s-level students at NSSR.
  • Laura Sansone, Part-time Lecturer, Parsons. A grant of $3,071 supported a curricular exchange between students at The New School and students at the California College of the Arts exploring the use of locally grown vegetables and plants as natural textile dyes. The project connects textile design to issues in environmental studies, food studies, urban studies, and the social sciences.
  • Ann Snitow, Associate Professor of Literature and Director of Gender Studies, Eugene Lang College. A $4,000 grant supported follow-up from a university-wide conference exploring the potential for Gender Studies at The New School, particularly the planning of curricular innovations related to a new Gender Studies minor.
  • Bhawani Venkataraman, Associate Professor and chair, Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Eugene Lang College, with Jennifer Wilson, Assistant Professor of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Eugene Lang College. A grant of $9,300 supported a systematic assessment of the pedagogical approaches, courses, and effectiveness of the interdisciplinary science curriculum.

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.