New School News

It Begins: Convocation to Be Held September 2

New School students, faculty, and staff are invited to mark the opening of the 2010-2011 academic year at the Convocation Ceremony on Thursday, September 2, at 3:00 p.m., in Tishman Auditorium, 66 West 12th Street. The program will include President Bob Kerrey’s Welcome, the Presentation of the 2010 Distinguished University Teaching Awards, and Provost Tim Marshall’s remarks. McKenzie Wark, associate professor of Culture and Media Studies and associate dean for Faculty Affairs at Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts, will give this year’s Aims of Education Address.

Distinguished University Teaching Awards will be presented to Richard A. Boukas, The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music; Peter Eisinger, Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy; Ann Snitow, Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts; and Ken Y. Tanabe, Parsons The New School for Design.

The 14th Annual Welcome Block Party, on West 12th Street, will immediately follow the ceremony. In addition, this year’s Block Party will feature information tables including the university Student Senate and other student organizations, and university and community resources. There will also be voter registration and Constitution Day information available as well as free food, henna tattoos, caricatures, and live music performed by New School Jazz students. Rain location: Arnhold Hall, Theresa Lang Community and Student Center, 55 West 13th.

Updated information on this year’s Convocation is available on the university’s website.

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.