New School News

Jazz Faculty Win 2011 JJA Jazz Awards

Jane Ira Bloom and Bobby Sanabria, two of The New School for Jazz and Contemporary Music’s faculty, have been honored by the Jazz Journalists Association’s prestigious 2011 Jazz Awards. Bloom was named Soprano Saxophonist of the Year, and Sanabria won Percussionist of the Year.

Bloom has been full-time faculty at The New School since 1989. She is a pioneer in the use of live electronics and movement in jazz and winner of the Guggenheim Fellowship in music composition, the Mary Lou Williams Jazz Award for lifetime service to jazz, Downbeat International Critics Poll, and the Charlie Parker Fellowship for jazz innovation.

Sanabria is a drummer, percussionist, composer, arranger, educator, and bandleader, who has performed and recorded with such legends as Dizzy Gillespie, Tito Puente, Mongo Santamar√≠a, Paquito d’Rivera, Ray Barretto, Henry Threadgill, Larry Harlow, and the Godfather of Afro-Cuban jazz, Mario Bauz√°. His big band recording, Live & in Clave!!! was nominated for a mainstream Grammy in 2001.


Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.