New School News

Parsons Alumni Sweep CFDA Awards

Mark Jacobs at the Parsons 2009 Fashion Benefit. Photo by Clint Spaulding (Patrick

Once again, talented alumni from Parsons The New School for Design swept the annual Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Awards, which were announced at a ceremony on June 6 at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall.

Marc Jacobs was honored with Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for his nearly thirty-year career in fashion, which was launched with a Parsons Designer of the Year Award in 1984. Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez received the coveted Womenswear Designer of the Year for their line Proenza Schouler, which also launched on the Parsons runway. Alumni Prabal Gurung was recognized with The Swarovski Award for Womenswear for his rising talent, and Alexander Wang was awarded Accessory Designer of the Year.

For more information, visit the CFDA website.

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.