New School News

Parsons Alumni Elected to CFDA

Prabal Gurung '01 at the 2011 Parsons Fashion Benefit.

The Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) recently announced its newly elected members for 2011, which include a number of Parsons alumni.

CFDA is a not-for-profit trade association that leads industry-wide initiatives and whose membership consists of more than 400 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry, and accessory designers. In addition to hosting the annual CFDA Fashion Awards, which recognize the top creative talent in the industry, the organization offers programs that support professional development and scholarships, including the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund, the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholar Award, the Liz Claiborne Scholarship Award, and the CFDA/Teen Vogue Scholarship.

The class of 2011 represents the largest number of designers since the organization’s founding in 1962,, said Steven Kolb, CEO of the CFDA. Each new member is uniquely talented and collectively they add strength to the ever growing influence of the CFDA and American fashion.,

Among the new class of members are Alexa Adams ’02 and Flora Gill ’02 of Ohne Titel, Christian Cota ’05, Prabal Gurung ’01, Jen Kao ’05, Mara Hoffman ’99, and Andrea Lieberman ’92 of A.L.C.

For more information, visit the CFDA website.

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.