New School News

The New School Celebrates Eleven Years of Student Leadership

On Thursday, April 26, the New School community packed the Theresa Lang Student and Community Center to celebrate excellence in student programming, leadership, and community-building on campus. Sponsored by the Office of Student Development and Activities, the eleventh annual Student Leadership Awards banquet presented 14 awards to the best and brightest examples of leadership at The New School, with categories including Outstanding Student Leader of the Year, Outstanding Program of the Year, and Outstanding Student Organization of the Year.

Eugene Lang College students and founders of the New School Improv Group, Casey Crockett and Noam Dagan, served as the evening’s co-hosts. This year’s ceremony featured two new award categories: Student Sustainability Champion and Student Social Justice Champion. The recurring themes of sustainability and social justice reflect The New School’s historical commitment to these ideals both as a place of higher education and applied practice. Linda Reimer, senior vice president for Student Services, was in attendance to present the Senior Vice President for Student Services Alma Mater awards to five graduating students.

Following are the award categories and winners:

  • Outstanding Student Organization or Group: Diversity Works
  • Community Service and Civic Engagement: Sarah Giffin (Lang)
  • Outstanding New Student Organization of the Year: Queer Collective
  • Senior Vice President for Student Services Alma Mater Award: Alex Gleason (Lang/NSSR); Catherine Gobel (Lang); Camilo Godoy (Parsons/Lang); Rashid Owoyele (Parsons); and Hammad Sheikh (NSSR)
  • Outstanding Advisor to a Student Organization: Lauretha Slaughter (Students for Social Justice)
  • Student Social Justice Campus Champion: Jillian White (NSPE)
  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year: Brittany Duck (NSPE)
  • Outstanding International Leadership within Study Abroad: William Thornton (NSPE)
  • Outstanding International Leadership at The New School: Martin Mayr (NSPE)
  • Student Sustainability Campus Champion: Ali Schuettinger (NSPE)
  • Outstanding Student Program of the Year (Organization): Undoing Racism, organized by Students for Social Justice
  • Outstanding Student Program of the Year (Individual): Hip Hop: Race, Politics, and Hyper-Masculinity, organized by Lauren Peterson (Lang)
  • Outstanding Student Program of the Year (Resident Advisor/Hall Staff): Desserts International, organized by the Loeb Hall Staff
  • Emerging Leaders: Ka Wai (Janet) Yeung (Parsons); Nichole Bosso (Parsons); and Alia Sanfilippo (Jazz)


Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.