Founded in 1972, the Graduate Faculty Philosophy Journal (GFPJ) is published semi-annually in association with the Department of Philosophy at The New School for Social Research. The GFPJ provides a forum in which contemporary authors engage with the history of philosophy and current topics in contemporary philosophy, and is edited entirely by graduate students in the Department of Philosophy. In recent years, the GFPJ has published work by key contemporary philosophers vital to the discourses of philosophy and social inquiry, such as Axel Honneth, Judith Butler, Jürgen Habermas, Agnes Heller, Julia Kristeva, Jacques Derrida, Catherine Malabou, John Sallis, Alphonso Lingis, Antonio Negri, Karl-Otto Apel, and Slavoj Žižek. The editors of the GFPJ also seek out and commission translations of work by authors whom they believe deserve a wider English-speaking readership, such as Trân Duc Thao, Martin Buber, Wolfram Hogrebe, Wolfgang Wieland, Jean-François Lyotard, and Giorgio Agamben, as well as of un-translated but important works by historical figures like G.W.F. Hegel, Edmund Husserl, Georg Lukács, Friedrich Hölderlin, and Maurice Merleau-Ponty. Additionally, the GFPJ maintains an influential position in contemporary discussions by soliciting from both experts in the field and fellow students reviews of recently published books in philosophy. Special issues occasionally combine all of these elements around a central theme, recent examples of which are “Philosophy and History,” “Philosophy and Race,” “Essays on Renaissance Philosophy,” and “On Kierkegaard.” In addition to its publication efforts, the GFPJ sponsors its own colloquia at the New School, and hosts a variety of media and original online content here on its website.

Editorial Board:
Krishna Boddapati, Cayla Clinkenbeard, and Ceciel Meiborg

Editorial Assistants:
Alexander Altonji, Greg Bartels, Lizabeth Dijkstra, and Agnese Di Riccio

Consulting Editors:
*Karl-Otto Apel, J.M. Bernstein, Richard Bernstein, Leo Bostar, *Cornelius Castoriadis, James Dodd, Johannes Fritsche, *Gerhard Funke, Jean Grondin, Agnes Heller, *Albert Hofstadter, Vittorio Hösle, *Joseph Kockelmans, *David R. Lachterman, Christina Lafont, Béatrice Longuenesse, Alexandre Métraux, Jitendra N. Mohanty, Dmitri Nikulin, Angelica Nuzzo, *Stanley Rosen, John Sallis, *Reiner Schürmann, Thomas Seebohm, *Ernst Vollrath