Transregional Center for Democratic Studies

Courage in Public Scholarship Award

The Award was envisioned in 2014 at the conclusion of NSSR/TCDS’s Democracy & Diversity Summer Institute in Wroclaw, Poland, by a group of alumni of NSSR/TCDS now living and working in Europe. They discussed the meaning of the New School academic experience that had shaped their personal and professional lives: its openness to others, its critical approach, its intellectual engagement, and its culture of dare-to-know and dare-to-discuss. Guided by The New School’s commitment to scholarly excellence, civic engagement, and ethical commitment to the larger world, they formed the NSSR-Europe Collective. Drawing on the ethos of the University in Exile and the conviction that especially in dark times universities carry a special responsibility vis-Ă -vis society, the Collective proposed to establish an annual tribute to exceptionally audacious thinkers, teachers, and doers through an annual Courage in Public Scholarship Award.

To date, the Award has been conferred upon six recipients: Ann Barr Snitow (2015), Agnes Heller (2016), Ewa Letowska (2017), Jan Tomasz Gross (2019), Osman Kavala (2021), and Elzbieta Matynia (2023).


The New School for Social Research
6 East 16th St., Rm 921, NY, NY 10003
212-229-5100 ext. 3136

Elzbieta Matynia, Director
212-229-5580 ext. 3137

Lala Pop, Program Manager,
PhD Student, Politics
212-229-5100 ext. 3136

Subscribe to our Newsletter!

New School Events

Take The Next Step

Submit your application


To apply to any of our Bachelor's programs (Except the Bachelor's Program for Adult Transfer Students) complete and submit the Common App online.

Graduates and Adult Learners

To apply to any of our Master's, Doctural, Professional Studies Diploma, Graduates Certificate, or Associate's programs, or to apply to the Bachelor's Program for Adult and Transfer Students, complete and submit the New School Online Application.